Municipality of Alegria


 The Municipality of Alegria was created by virtue of Republic Act No. 5239.  Originally it was Sitio Anahaw, founded by immigrants from the Municipality of Bacuag.  Since the place was always flooded during rainy season so the families transferred to a new place called Alegria, which was formerly a barrio of the Municipality of Mainit.
            The name Alegria was derived from the Spanish word which means “lively.”  Its name was given by the late Judge Sixto Orga who happened to spend the night in the place.  He was offered a party and dance by the people.  The affair was so lively that he told the people to change the name Anahaw to Alegria.
            The new municipality extends from the boundary of Kitcharao, Agusan del Norte to Pungtod and Dayano which is the boundary of the Municipality of Mainit.  It comprises six (6) barangays and has a total population of 1,975 (1986).  It is endowed with verdant forest and wide fertile agricultural lands.